Slouchy hatWith all the success I had so far with the scarves and gloves, I decided to try my hand at making a hat. One of my pins on Pinterest lead to a pattern for a cute slouchy hat. There was also a beret that I found at the same time. I originally attempted the beret, but the bobble stitch in the starter ring defeated me. Not to be outdone, I was going to make a hat of some sort–that day! So I started on the slouchy hat. The BLO single crochet to make the ribbing for the brim was easy-peasy. I joined the brim into a ring and began on the body of the hat. The actual work up of the hat was not a problem–the problem came when I was finished. The hat was way too stretchy and slouchy! And I tried the  brim on before I joined it–it seemed fine, alas it was not. I have since found a better easier way to close the top of such a hat as well. I may try again with a smaller hook to see if I get a smaller brim. I loved the colors in the yarn, and the project consumed pretty much the entire skein. If I can figure out how to re-open that top closure, I might frog (undo) my work and make something else. From the picture above, it looks pretty good–but it barely stays on my head. Nonetheless, I’ve included a link to the pattern below.

Here is a link to the pattern.

What I used:

  • Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver in Purple Tones
  • Hook: Honestly I don’t remember for sure but I think I used a 5.5mm/US I for the brim (because I didn’t have the 6mm/US J that the pattern calls for) and a 6.5mm/US K for the body.  However, if that is what I used I’m definitely going to need to go smaller to get it to actually fit.

~Are you a crafter? What have you made recently? Let me know by leaving a comment below.

~Want your craft work featured? Want me to try your beginner or easy level crochet pattern? See the contact me page for more details.

Connect with me: Check out the links on the right side of the page for my Ravelry page and my Crochet Pinterest Board